My 2017 Goals (+ A 2016 Recap)

2017-goals-templateI think a lot of people would agree that 2016 wasn’t the best. But, for me I think it was a wonderful year. It was a year of growth and maturity. Don’t get me wrong, there were plenty difficult days and nights spent crying. But overall I have learned so much and I think 2016 was incredible.

Here are a few of the amazing things that happened for me in 2016:

My boyfriend joined the Air Force.

Okay, so this isn’t 100% good all the time but it’s definitely proven that our relationship is going to last. He joined in February (so almost a full year) and we had to withstand 9 weeks of no communication. I wasn’t one of the lucky ones who got a letter every week along with a phone call. No, all I received was two 2-minute phone calls and three letters (the first one being sent to all family members).

Since he joined we spent a total of 16 days together in 2016. This was a very difficult year in this aspect. We had to figure out how to communicate and keep our relationship alive, and let me tell you – I am so happy that this year is over with in this regard.

Because he joined the Air Force, I was able to visit Texas & California for the first time! I look forward to finding out where the Air Force will take us next. In 2017 my boyfriend should graduate his tech school and move on to a new base. We have survived a year of long distance, which basically proves that we are in this for the long haul.

Click here to view my top 3 blog posts of 2016:

Writing Letters to Someone In Boot Camp

A Guide to Lackland Air Force Base

Our Final Goodbye

 

I created long distance greeting cards.

Because my boyfriend joined the Air Force, I wanted to create long distance related greeting cards. It was almost exactly a year ago when I started making them, and I will never look back on that decision. Making long distance greeting cards has given me an outlet when I need to express my feelings. It has also given me the opportunity to connect with those in similar situations as me.

I love that I have been able to take a difficult situation and turn it into a positive aspect of my life.

Click here to see all of my greeting cards: *click*

I got my first wholesale client.

Jordyn Alison Designs can now be found in TWO stores in Michigan (Half Mile Handmade and Gigi’s Boutique). It was a dream of mine to get my cards into stores and I was able to achieve this goal. I *hope* that I can expand that number to about 4-5 stores in 2017. Baby steps.

Seeing my designs out in the wild is so fun and exciting. My sister brags about me all the time to her friends when she goes into stores that I’m in and that makes me so happy! I found out that I have a lot of people who are proud of me and are here to support me.

My 2017 Goals

  • Reach 1,000 sales on Etsy (a bit of a stretch, but who knows!)
  • Get two new wholesale clients.
  • Make more printables for the blog and Etsy.
  • Double my blog views in 2017 compared to 2016.
  • Make a website for myself (and then transfer the blog to that)
  • Expand my line to have notepads, calendars, mugs, etc.

These are my main goals for 2017. I would love to hear what your goals for the year are!

Take a peek in my Etsy shop which features many LDR cards. Sending & making cards is what helped keep me sane through his Boot Camp and on.

signature

Where to find me:

Etsy (where I post LDR cards & other artwork)

Instagram (where I post my daily hand lettering project & products of mine)

Facebook (where I post Behind-The-Scenes, etc.)

Leave a Reply

