Military Talk: Dealing With Distance and School

military-talk-pint-school-ldrA lot of long distance relationships happen during school, whether that be high school or college. Currently for me I am in my 3rd year of college and I cannot wait to be done with it. My boyfriend left during the winter semester last year, so this year is going to be my first full year of college without him.

Last semester was more difficult for me. In the fall we got in a routine where I would call him after my night classes at 10pm. However, when winter came around I wasn’t able to do that anymore. He was in boot camp and we had very minimal communication those 9 weeks. It was hard to adjust to not being able to call him on my way home from my night class that semester.

This year is a little different. Since we are able to talk and text more, it isn’t so stressful with the distance. It still sucks and I still think about him and what he’s doing a lot during the day. I usually text him a lot more than he texts me, but that was typical even before he entered the military.

Tips for Being Long Distant During School

  1. Don’t let it get in front of your school work. School is still important and getting good grades, doing homework, etc., is still very important. When I first met my boyfriend we agreed that we would never let our relationship get in the way of our school. He has made it a point to motivate me and encourage me to finish school when sometimes that is the last thing I want to do.
  2. Work them into your schedule. You don’t want to completely avoid talking to him or her (as that would not help anything) because of school. Figure out a way to make it work for both of your schedules. For us, we still Skype on the weekends because that is the only time it’s guaranteed for us. During the week we text in the morning and tell each other to have a good day and what not. I usually get a text from him during his lunch, and then I don’t hear from him until after 6pm his time. I have gotten used to when he is available. He knows when I have school and work, so he knows when it’s a good time to call me.
  3. Hang out with friends. This will help you out with school, and in your overall mood. Don’t just sit around waiting to hear from your SO, instead do homework or hang out with friends to pass the time (and not be miserable).

 

Do you have any other tips for being in school while being in a long distance relationship? I would love to hear them below!

signature

Where to find me:

Etsy (where I post LDR cards & other artwork)

Instagram (where I post my daily hand lettering project & products of mine)

Facebook (where I post Behind-The-Scenes, etc.)

Sign up for my mailing list to hear about upcoming sales and new products first!
Leave a Reply

