Military Talk: How Skype Helps My Relationship

IMG_3304

Card Found in the Shop: Jordyn Alison Designs

Saturday’s have become my favorite day of the week now. Why? Because that’s our “Skype Day.” It’s the only time we really get to talk to each other for more than a couple minutes, so it has quickly became my favorite time.

Military Talk PINT Skype

My boyfriend has now been at Tech School for two months and throughout this time we only get to talk on the weekends. There is a 3 hour time difference between us, so by the time he is done with homework it’s already past midnight for me. If I didn’t have the time on the weekend with him I don’t know how well I would be able to handle this. Boot Camp was a long 9 weeks for me, as for him as well (I’m sure!). I relied heavily on writing notes to him to tell him about my day because I didn’t want him to miss out on anything. But now that we are able to text and Skype it seems to be a heck of a lot easier!

I love that I can see his face and hear him talk. When he was calling from Boot Camp, it was either really loud or he only had about 2 minutes to talk. But now we talk for about an hour and a half on Saturday and it really feels like he’s not that far away.

If we couldn’t Skype I know we would text more often, but really… I think it would put more strain on our relationship. Mainly from my end. I’m all about physical touch and since that’s impossible with LDRs, seeing him is the next best thing. I can’t tell you how much happier I am once I get to see his face.

I love that I get to see him smile or laugh now. It makes my entire day better. I love just be able to see his facial expressions again, and see him relax when he talks to me. He is under a lot of stress and when we get to talk it’s finally that time when he doesn’t need to worry about anything else. As much as I hate hearing him tell me he misses me (it breaks my heart), I love being able to see him say it and see the sincerity of it. In a way it makes me feel like I’m not alone, that I’m not the only one struggling with this.

signature

If you’re in an LDR what do you use to get through the day? What helps you out? Do you swear by Skype as well? Share your stories in the comments below! 

Where to find me:

Etsy (where I post LDR cards & other artwork)

Instagram (where I post my daily hand lettering project & products of mine)

Facebook (where I post Behind-The-Scenes, etc.)

One thought on “Military Talk: How Skype Helps My Relationship

Leave a Reply

