Military Talk: Visiting Him

IMG_2589

The greatest feeling.

Earlier in the month I got the wonderful opportunity to finally visit him! This was the first time I got to see him in 52 days. Yes, I was counting down from the moment he left. What I will say is that two months went by a heck of a lot faster than I was imagining. There were moments where I didn’t think I could do this any longer, and then I’d get a letter in the mail or I’d get a phone call. Now, I only got a total of 3 letters and 2 phone calls during his time at boot camp, but those things came at the times I needed them most.

Hugging him for the first time almost brought me to tears. I couldn’t believe this was really happening.

There were moments where everything was good and then there were moments of very high stress. Me and him typically don’t stress each other out so to be in an environment where we were both getting stressed out from other people was very different for me. I have never seen him this way so at first I didn’t know what to do.

We finally got 5 minutes to ourselves the day before I had to leave. I’ve never been in a situation where I needed to share him among 5 other people. I knew going into this weekend that I shouldn’t even expect any alone time with him because of that reason. It got to the point where I called my dad crying because they had been stressing me out too much and I just couldn’t handle it anymore. I left the room to call him only to find out 5 minutes later that they were gonna “let us be alone”. Which basically just resulted in me crying in his arms.

I’m not going to lie, it sucked. I have never wanted to talk to him or hug him more than that weekend. And I have never been so stressed out because of someone else. I couldn’t talk to him about any of this because there was always someone there. I couldn’t tell him about my life because someone else was busy telling him about theirs. I kept getting interrupted when I did talk, so I kind of gave up trying…

Like I said, a LOT of emotions were involved with this weekend. And I hate to say it, but I’m glad it’s over. The next time I see him it will just be me and him and I cannot WAIT for that. It sucks having to save up so much money just to see my boyfriend, but I know this is what I need right now. I need time with him to feel closer to him and not so distant. I need time to just sit with him and tell him whatever is on my mind and not worry about other people joining in on our conversation.

I am planning on going to visit him in California in two months, if all goes as planned.

signature

Have you ever had to deal with anything like this? Share your stories below! 

Where to find me:

Etsy (where I post LDR cards & other artwork)

Instagram (where I post my daily hand lettering project & products of mine)

Facebook (where I post Behind-The-Scenes, etc.)

Leave a Reply

