Military Talk: What Has My LDR Strengthened?

Military Talk PINT StrengthBeing in a long distance relationship definitely has a new set of challenges that come along with it. For many, there is a communication barrier. Right now, me and my boyfriend can only communicate through letters that take about a week and a half to get to each other. Chances are I will not be getting another one from him though, because he is quite the busy bee at Boot Camp.

We were in a long distance relationship before Boot Camp, but we were still able to talk. That is the biggest difference. I have had to learn how to still feel loved by him without being able to hear him say it or do things for me to show me.

So what has my LDR strengthened?

I have motivation to do more. I want him to be proud of me when I see him next. I want to be able to show him all of the things I have worked on and accomplished while he was gone. I use my time more wisely and really am living each day to the fullest.

In his letter to me, he told me that he is excited to see all the cards I have made. I am so stinkin’ lucky to be dating someone who genuinely cares about my interests and continuously wants to help me improve. He’s going to be SO surprised to see all that I’ve done since he left. And that’s how I wanted it to be. I didn’t want him to think I just wasted my days away being sad, I want him to know that I took advantage of my time and did something useful with it.

I am less needy. I think we were pretty independent people in the first place, but now that I can’t talk to him at all, I have found out how to go on with my day to day life and not feel the need to have to tell him every little detail. Before, I used to bore him with the small things, because I enjoyed talking to him. But now, I don’t have to do that. I don’t get sad when I realize I can’t call him. And this doesn’t mean I’m heartless or I’m changing who I am (because trust me, when we can start calling each other he will get to hear the boring details again), I just have realized that there is no point being sad that I can’t do something with him and just move on.

I have learned that it’s okay to lean on others. I hate being emotional. I hate crying. But lately I have seen this side of me come out more and more. I let little things effect my day to day life. But I have realized that it’s okay to be stressed, sad, lonely, all the feelings. It’s okay to tell your best friend that you are having these feelings even if she’s already heard it before. It’s okay because they’re your friend and that’s what they’re there for.

There are days that go great and I’m happy and I don’t need anyone to help me. But then there are days where it seems like nothing can go right. Those are the days I appreciate my best friend and my mom the most. They are the ones who help get me through this. And I am learning that I shouldn’t be afraid to tell them how I feel and I shouldn’t feel like I have to do this alone.

I have seen my creativity flourish since he left. I am lucky to have this hobby/job/whatever you wanna call it. I get to have a distraction when I’m sad or lonely. I get to fuel my energy into my art. I get to take all that inspiration from him and spill it out into my work. I get to make LDR related cards (amongst other things as well) and sell those to people who know what I’m feeling. I get to have my cards make an impact on other relationships. And that’s awesome.

I could probably go on if I sat here longer and thought of every little thing. But I don’t want to bore you with the details so I am only sharing what I feel is the most important. These things I listed above, I notice on a daily basis. I am constantly being reminded that with each day I am getting stronger.

If you’re reading this and you are in a LDR, please believe that things do get easier. Not every day will be sunshine and butterflies but you will figure out how to deal with your emotions better. You will learn a lot. So please have faith and don’t give up!

signature

What things has you LDR strengthened in you? I’d love to hear in the comments below! 🙂 

 

Where to find me:

Etsy (where I post LDR cards & other artwork)

Instagram (where I post my daily hand lettering project & products of mine)

Facebook (where I post Behind-The-Scenes, etc.)

 

Leave a Reply

