Military Talk: Having Fears and How To Deal With Them

Military Talk - Fears

It’s totally normal to be scared when facing something new and unknown. If you’re anything like me, not knowing what could happen will really freak you out. I looooove planning things and when I’m faced with the unknown I start to worry and stress out.

I know that me and my boyfriend have a strong relationship, but thinking about how we will be apart for the better part of the next 2+ years really does scare me.

What Are Your Fears?

  • That neither of us will be the same as before he left. I fear that the more he leaves me the more it’ll crush me.
  • That I’m not a strong enough of a person to handle this kind of relationship.
  • My #1 love language is Personal Touch. And obviously this can’t happen unless we are together. It scares me to know this because I don’t want this to be a continuous problem. I have no idea how I’m supposed to tell myself I can’t need that right now. It’s very hard for me to feel loved by him when I can’t talk to him, when I can’t hug him, etc. I’m not even the one in Boot Camp, but I am still highly affected by it.
    • I hope the when he sees me he will understand that I am going to be really affectionate and touchy. I hope he realizes that he will need to hug me as much as he can before he has to leave again.
      • My 2nd top love language is Words of Affirmation, and eventually we will be able to talk again so this shouldn’t be too much of a problem. But for now, I don’t even get to talk to him and hear his voice. This doesn’t affect me as much as not being able to see him and hug him, but it still is hard when I’m used to telling him about my day every day and hearing “I love you” before I go to sleep each night.
        • I have one voicemail from him and it’s from a year ago. We had only been dating officially for one month so we weren’t saying “I love you” yet. In this voicemail he was calling me just to hear about my day. I replay this a couple times a week just so I can hear his voice and feel connected to him again.

Military Talk PIN Fears

How To Deal With Your Fears:

  • Try to tell  yourself to think more positively. When you start worrying or thinking about something bad try and twist it so you can see the positive light instead.
  • Read a book, draw, write letters, hang with family and friends. Do whatever it is you have to do to stay busy and content.
  • Start a blog. I find this to be very therapeutic to write down my feelings and connect with other individuals who are in my shoes / have been in my shoes before.
  • Think about all of the wonderful times you have spent together and how much you love him or her. Think about how happy it will make you to finally see him again.
  • Take it one day at a time. This is probably the most important piece of advice I can give you.

Don’t worry about what can happen in a month. Don’t worry about what can happen in a year. Just focus on the 24 hours you have in front of you and do what you can to be closer to where you want to be.

-Eric Thomas

 

signature

What are some of your fears that you have with being in an LDR relationship? 

 

Where to find me:

Etsy (where I post LDR cards & other artwork)

Instagram (where I post my daily hand lettering project & products of mine)

Facebook (where I post Behind-The-Scenes, etc.)

Leave a Reply

