Military Talk: How do we balance each other?

Military Talk- Balancing Eachother

They always say opposites attract. What I think is that differences create interest and it’s with the things you have in common that grows that interest.

When I first met my boyfriend (at work) I was so nervous and I didn’t know what to say to him, because he was so different from me. We started watching Star Wars together and between all that hanging out was when we realized how similar we are despite our differences.

After being with him for about a year (+ 5 unofficial months) I think it’s safe to say I know him pretty well. I’d say the biggest difference, and the one that causes the most problems, is that he is a go-with-the-flow type of guy and I LOVE planning things out. I get very frustrated when he springs something up on me.

At the beginning of our relationship he would always ask me to do things last minute…which usually meant one hour or less before. 9 times out of 10 I’d say “I can’t.” I explained to him that I love to plan ahead for my week and you are more than likely to get your way if you ask me things in advanced. He has figured this out and little things like that don’t come up anymore.

I don’t want to make myself sound like a b–ch, but it would seriously stress me out when he would ask me to do something that night… I’m more introverted than he is so he didn’t understand why I was acting this way. There were times I agreed to go places even though I knew I wouldn’t be comfortable – but that’s what is great about being different from him. We get to experience new things and push ourselves out of our comfort zone.

One thing I love most about our relationship is that we are both frugal. I don’t have to ever worry about him wasting his money and blowing it on unnecessary items. This means that when he does buy me something it makes it that much more special to me. Instead of always buying each other gifts, we tend to lean more on the homemade gifts. For our first Valentine’s (right before we started dating) he actually bought me chocolate and flowers. But other than that and the occasional dinner and movie, most of his gifts to me have been made by him. And I love that. That makes me feel so loved.

I could write all day about my boyfriend if I had to, but I’ll leave it at that for now. At the end of the day I love him regardless of his little quirks. I think these 9 weeks apart will definitely make me miss the strangest aspects about him.

signature

What do you and your significant other have in common or differ from? Do you enjoy trying new things with your partner? 

 

Where to find me:

Etsy (where I post LDR cards & other artwork)

Instagram (where I post my daily hand lettering project & products of mine)

Facebook (where I post Behind-The-Scenes, etc.)

2 thoughts on “Military Talk: How do we balance each other?

  1. Your boyfriend sounds like the polar opposite of mine, haha. The handmade gifts and frugal mindset are a huge plus in my mind so you’ve definitely got yourself a good catch there! You two sound like you’re great for each other 🙂 My boyfriend and I are weirdly similar/different, almost depending on the situation rather than the qualities we possess. It’s definitely an odd experience! Best of luck to you and yours 🙂 -C

    Like

    • I definitely appreciate knowing that I can spend little money on him and it still means the world to him! As the days of zero communication go on, I have to keep reminding myself why I love this man so I don’t just give up when the going gets tough. Blogging has kind of helped me in that sense at least!

      All LDRs are tough, that’s not a doubt. In the end it’ll make for a very strong, solid, relationship. Good luck to you as well! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

